Maniac4Bricks Goals for 2020

I know we’re in Junem halfway through the year, but I’ve kept some goals in my mind since January of what I’d like to progress in my hobbies and social media:

– Reach 4,000 Subscribers on YouTube – I’ve been sitting over 3,000 for almost 2 years now, and despite changing my flow of content for better or worse, it’s been stagnant and it’s taken me so long to figure out why and what to do about it. But even moreso, I’d like to have a good portion of those subscribers to be active, as for the most part between videos and livestreams, I see 10 faces at best as regulars. Makes me feel smaller than I actually am.

– Build a new MOC for Philly Brick Fest or BrickFair VA – Every year I try to add a new MOC to the conventions I go to, last year being the LEGO Pop-Up Workshop. This year I was thinking of updating it for more accuracy or making something entirely different. The goal is to have it available for one or both of the most prominent shows of the year.
At this point, we all know the shows have been postponed, cancelled, or virtualized. While this gives me more time to build, I still have obstacles to clear before I have a building table again.

– Build a new Bionicle MOC. Whether or not it makes a show, I want to try building more with Bionicle/CCBS/Technic parts. Since BFVA 19 I’ve already been trying to get more involved in the Bionicle fan community and message boards, but still feel inferior as I don’t have many MOCs or storylines to my name. Stories are somewhat developed and still need a model behind the characters. Last year all I built new was Voriki from Shapeways parts, mostly as a proof of concept and to test 3-D printed materials with official LEGO pieces. Plus I’ve been inspired by so many MOCcists in the community, I already have several designs underway, but a MOC Contest and BioCup is happening currently. Totally not panicking to finish in time.

– Clean and organize my space. Simple. Whether or not our lives would be indoors for months or just March, I am still determined to clean up and sort what’s around me. It’s been in my head for years about the functions of my rooms would be, and having parts reasonably accessible and sets neatly arranged for shelf rotation. That said, I have to do most of this work alone.

– Continue Brick Theory on YouTube. At the closing of the channel in December 2019, many people came out of seemingly nowhere saddened by the news. For a long time I hadn’t realized how dedicated people were to this content, even if it was produced sporadically. But part of my cleaning and consolidation was also digital, and had to be done. A new episode launched recently, and I still have momentum to make more and revive old concepts. Hopefully the quality and upload rate is consistent and somewhat regular.

– Collect every console and handheld port of LEGO Video Games (excluding PC) in 2020. I excluded PC because there’s dozens of ports for the same game over time, and it wouldn’t be likely to have them all in a calendar year especially during the current situations. I have a good grip on handhelds (haha pun) and consoles, even had a video early in 2020 documenting everything so far. There’s still plenty to go, whether or not I can get to playing them soon, but again this is a bit difficult when oppurtunities for income is low. Might have to put this one off until next year to be safe.

There’s plenty more things I’d like to do, but these were the most important to accomplish this year. I can say I’m close to 4,000 subs (within 80 left) but it’s still a slow climb, no matter what I put out – content unique or standard to the community. I don’t have follower goals for other social media, I know who’s active on each as well. That said, I would like to push Maniac4Bricks_More to meet the requirements for mobile streaming to make an easy feature available to me.

Maniac4Bricks

Leave a comment